Awards Committee Report October 11, 2008 MPLA Board Meeting JaNae Kinikin, Chair

The chair recruited two new members for the committee, as one member had retired and the other had left the library at which he was working.

Current members of the committee are:

- * BJ Vinson (OK-second year)
- * Deborah Hogue (CO-new)
- * Ellen Fockler (NV-new)
- * JaNae Kinikin (UT-new), chair
- * Oliver Pflug(MT-new)
- * Sarah Watson (NE-second year)
- * Steve Decker (UT-new)

On August 14, 2008, BJ Vinson, Oliver Pflug, Sarah Watson, and JaNae Kinikin met via conference call to discuss the committee*s work.

Ellen Fockler and Steve Decker were unable to attend, but checked in via email The committee set the deadline for award nominations as January 9, 2009. The deadline for the committee*s final selections is January 30, 2009. The committee looked at a draft email to advertise for potential award nominees. JaNae distributed this email to current MPLA members and to MPLA state reps to distribute to their state mailing lists. The advertisement was also included in the MPLA October newsletter. As of October 1, the Awards committee had received 5 nominations. The chair will send out another request for nominations at the beginning of October.

To assist the work of the committee an AirSet (http://www.airset.com) group has been created at the suggestion of Roy Degler. This web site contains a calendar, a blog, and allows file sharing. As nominations are received the chair will upload these files to AirSet, so that all committee members will have access.