

MPLA Executive Board Meeting

4:00 pm Central Time; March 8, 2023 Embassy Suites by Hilton Norman Hotel and Conference Center, Oklahoma and by Zoom Videoconference

PRESENT (indicated by **)			
Name	MPLA Position	Name	MPLA Position
**Brenda Hemmelman	President	**Robin Hastings	Professional Development
			Chair
**Amadee Rickets	Vice President/President Elect	**Amadee Rickets	Program Council
**Stephen Sweeney	Past President	**Amber Kent	AZ State Rep
**Luise Davis	Recording Secretary	**Elena Rosenfeld	CO State Rep
**Judy Kulp	Executive Secretary	**Maribeth Shafer	KS State Rep
**Roy Degler	System Administrator	**Rachel Rawn	MT State Rep
Melanie Argo	Newsletter Editor	**Randi Monley	ND State Rep
**Stephen Sweeney	Administration Committee	Michael Straatmann	NE State Rep
	Chair		
**Mary Ann Thompson	Awards Committee Chair	**Erin Wahl	NM State Rep
**Frances Brummett	Bylaws Committee Chair	**Luise Davis	NV State Rep
**Shanna Smith-	Communications Co-Chair	**Gloria Farmer	OK State Rep
Ritterhouse			
**Jennifer Williams-	Communications Co-Chair	Melanie Argo	SD State Rep
Curl			
**Leslie Langley	LI Committee Chair	**Sherrie Mortensen	UT State Rep
**Erin Wahl	Membership Committee Chair	**Judi Boyce	WY State Rep
**Stephen Sweeney	Nominating Committee Chair	**Annie Epperson	Archives Task Force Chair
**Stephen Sweeney	Past Presidential Advisory	**Stephen Sweeney	Webinars Task Force Chair
	Council Chair		
**Brandon Kizer	Webmaster	**Jean Hatfield	Past Presidential Advisory
			Council
** David Alexander	Bylaws Committee		

AGENDA

Welcome and Call to Order. Brenda Hemmelman, President Brenda called the meeting to order at 4:15 p.m. Central Time

Introductions

Minutes of January 11, 2023, Board Meeting. Luise Davis, Recording Secretary Stephen moved to accept; Randi seconded. Approved.

Action/Discussion

* Webmaster and System Administrator Positions. Brenda Hemmelman, President; Brandon Katzir, Webmaster; Roy Degler, System Administrator

Agreements for System Administrator (Roy) and Webmaster (Brandon) have been signed.

* New Logo. Brenda Hemmelman, President

Kelly Thompson, from South Dakota, created the new MPLA logo. She is planning to attend next year's conference in Utah.

* Appointment of 2022 Accounting Review Committee. Brenda Hemmelman, President

Judy Kulp, Elena Rosenfeld, Robin Hastings, Jennifer Williams-Curl, and David Alexander will serve on the committee.

Financial and Membership Report

* Budget & Membership Statistics. *Judy Kulp, Executive Secretary* Judy reviewed the budget; we're in good shape. Leadership Institute will be the biggest part of this year's budget. Having a number of members at the OLA/MPLA joint conference will help. There are about 450 total attendees at conference this year.

There are 161 members who have not renewed their memberships this year. The grace period ends at the of March. Judy will be contacting State Reps to have them reach out and encourage people to renew.

Officers and Committees

Individuals with * have additional discussion or information items. All other reports will be accepted electronically without discussion.

* President – Brenda Hemmelman

Thanks to everyone for their hard work this year.

Suggests that Board look into the possibility of doing agreements and membership votes electronically. She would like the Board to explore Roy's suggestion of using more of Google's workspace.

Past-President – Stephen Sweeney

Vice-President/President-Elect – Amadee Ricketts

Administration—Stephen Sweeney

Awards – *Mary Ann Thompson*

Bylaws and Procedures – Frances Brummett

Communications – Shanna Smith-Ritterhouse

Leadership Institute – Leslie Langley

Leadership Institute 2023 is in May at Estes Park. There are 29 fellows in the cohort. There are four mentors. Facilitator Maureen Sullivan will be hosting video sessions in March and April for the cohort.

Membership – *Erin Wahl*

Nominating Committee – Stephen Sweeney

Professional Development – Robin Hastings

* Program Council – 2023 OLA/MPLA Conference Update - Amadee Ricketts

Leslie, Gloria, Tim, & Tara did a nice job organizing this year's conference, including coordinating MPLA's 75th Anniversary celebration.

Archives Task Force - Annie Epperson

Annie reported that seven boxes of items have been transferred to Roy for the digitizing process.

Past Presidents Advisory Council – Jean Hatfield

State Representatives

Individuals with * have discussion or information items. All other reports will be accepted electronically without discussion.

Arizona – Amber Kent

Colorado – Elena Rosenfeld

Kansas – *Maribeth Shafer*

Montana – Rachel Rawn

Nebraska – Michael Straatman

Nevada – *Luise Davis*

New Mexico – Erin Wahl

North Dakota – *Randi Monley*

Oklahoma – *Gloria Farmer*

South Dakota – Melanie Argo

Utah – Sherrie Mortensen

Wyoming – Judi Boyce

Wyoming's state conference is October 4-6 in Casper.

Final Announcements

Next year's conference will be May 8-10 in Salt Lake City. A new agreement will need to be

signed because of the change of venue.

Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 5:00 p.m. Central Time.