**O-2** Vice-President's Report JaNae Kinikin July 2012

## 2012 Conference Planning

The deadline for early bird registration is July 31, 2012. The program has been set, although adjustments are being made as necessary. Theresa Jehlik, MPLA's Nebraska representative, is attending the planning meetings in Nebraska and will keep us informed.

## **Strategic Planning**

To begin the long-term planning process, I have consulted with Judy Zelenski. She suggested sending out the email (sent July 18) with several questions regarding the purpose of MPLA. I will use the answers to break the Executive Committee into smaller groups to work on sections of the long-term plan virtually over the next several months. If the process goes as planned, a final draft will be ready for consideration at the first board meeting at the October conference.

## **Committee Appointments**

I emailed current members of all MPLA committees and asked whether or not they still wanted to be involved. Most have replied and I have renewed their appointment or placed them on a different committee. A few requested to leave committee work due to other commitments. I will send out one more email to other MPLA members who have expressed interest in committee work to see if they want to be involved. I have not limited the numbers due to the fact that with virtual meetings not all members will be able to attend.

The table below outlines the *current* committee appointments that will begin after the October 2012 conference.

Administration	Dana Braccia, chair
Awards	Mary Ann Thompson, chair Holly Okuhara, member Tina Walker, member David Oberhelman, member Pat Frade, member Dorothy Horan, member
Bylaws and Procedures	Elvita Landau, chair Wayne Hanway, member
Communications	Jao-Ming Huang, chair Jeri Light, member Louis Howley, member Jon Fakrell, member Lori Clark-Erickson, member
Leadership Institute	Adriane Juarez, co-chair Anali Perry, co-chair Rebecca Lubas, member (attended 2012 LI) Robert Shupe, member Lea Briggs, member
MPLA Program Council	MPLA President-elect/Vice-President, chair
Nominating	Eileen Wright, chair state reps
Professional Development	Cindy Osborne, chair Shaun Jackson, member Lori Phillips, member Beth Avery, member Tom Taylor, member Kathy Jacobs, member (attended 2012 LI) Robin Leech, member Holly Rick, member Misty Smith, member
Membership	Sharon Ailslieger, chair Marcia Dority Baker, member Danielle De Jager-Loftus, member Phyllis Bratton, member Brenda.Hemmelman, member