Kansas Report to MPLA May 9, 2007 Submitted by Susan Moyer, KLA Representative to MPLA

The new officers of the Kansas Library Association (KLA) will take their seats on July 1. The include Carla Kaiser (Basehor Public Library as President, Laura Loveless (Kansas City Kansas Public Library) as First Vice-President, and Denise Smith (Stanton County Library) as Second Vice-President. Gina Millsap (Topeka/Shawnee County Public Library) will return as Secretary.

At their April meeting, the KLA Council adopted a new and aggressive strategic plan to guide its efforts through the next few years. The majority of the activity is designed for completion by 2009 with other items identified for action beyond that. A new mission and a new vision statement were also adopted as part of the plan. They are:

- * KLA Mission Statement: The Kansas Library Association is the common bond, public voice, and collective power for the Kansas library community.
- * KLA Vision Statement: Dynamic libraries and librarians serving all Kansans.

The 2007 Kansas Tri-Conference was held April 10-13 in Topeka. As always, it featured many excellent programs as well as:

- * The State Librarian's Luncheon which also served as a fund raiser for the Kansas Center for the Book (KCFB) and featured harp music by MPLA VP/PE Rob Banks.
- * A literary trivia bee and basket drawing sponsored by the KLA Educational Foundation that featured more than 40 donated, themed baskets and raised more than \$4,000 for the Foundation
- * The Kansas Authors' dinner sponsored by KCFB.

In addition, MPLA President Wayne Hanway attended the conference and presented a program entitled "Library Funding Elections: Getting Over the Hurdles."

The three, first-place winners of the "Kansas Letters about Literature" reading and writing initiative have been named. They include:

- * Level I-Grayce McAllister, elementary school-aged homeschool student from Americus, for her letter to Susan Wojciechowski, who wrote The Christmas Miracle of Jonathan Toomey
- * Level II-Francesca Hutton, 8th grader at Wichita's Independent Middle School, for her letter to Daniel Handler, writing as "Lemony Snicket," author of A Series of Unfortunate Events.
- * Level III-Jamie Allen, Sophmore at Ottawa High School, for her letter to Theodore Geisel writing as Dr. Seuss about his book, Oh, The Places You'll Go!

Their essays have been submitted to the national competition and have been posted at the Kansas Center for the Book website at www.kcfb.info.

The second annual Kansas Book Festival will be held at Koch Arena on the campus of Wichita State University on October 5-6. It will include author programs and book signings, special children's activities, a book fair and entertainment by Kansas musicians, performers, dance troupes, and theater companies. The festival will also feature the "Night of Notables" gala honoring the winners of the Kansas Center for the Book's 2007 Notable Book Award. The Kansas Book Festival is a presentation of the Governor's Cultural Affairs Council, the State Library of Kansas, the Kansas Center for the Book, the Kansas State Historical Society, the Kansas Arts Commission, the Kansas Humanities Council, the Wichita Public Library, and the Wichita Convention and Visitors Bureau.

Vikki Jo Stewart, Special Projects Director of the State Library of Kansas, has been named the 2007 recipient of the Duane Johnson Library Leadership Award. Named after the former State Librarian in recognition of his assistance in developing that group, the award is presented each year by the Friends of Kansas Libraries. Recipients receive a perpetual plaque to hang in their office for the award year and have \$100 donated in their name to the Kansas Library Association Educational Foundation.

Julie Tomlianovich, South Central Kansas Library System Youth Services Consultant, has been elected to the 2009 Newbery Award Committee. This is a one year commitment which will begin at the ALA Midwinter Meeting in Philadelphia on January 11. Half of the fifteen person committee is elected and the remaining half is appointed. Julie was also a member of the 1996 Caldecott Award Committee for the ALSC and is currently a member of the William Allen White Book Award Committee for the state of Kansas.

More than 60,000 Kansas students in grades 3 – 8 cast their ballots in this year's contest for the William Allen White Children's Book Award (WAWCBA). When the votes were tallied the two winners were "The Report Card" by Andrew Clements in the third-fifth grade category and "So B. It" by Sarah Weeks in the sixth-eighth grade group. The awards will be presented at the 55th annual celebration on the campus of Emporia State University on September 29. The WAWCBA was the nation's first statewide reader's choice award, and is directed by Emporia State University with the support of the Trusler Foundation.