ST-5

MPLA Board Report January 2012

Submitted by Theresa Jehlik

Nebraska Library Association 2011 Award Winners

The Nebraska Library Association and its Sections annually honor deserving librarians, trustees, and advocates from across the state. Here are this year's winners –

Meritorious Service Award

Floyd Smith III

Mari Sandoz Award

E. Jane Graff

Presidential Awards of Excellence

Scott Childers Michael Straatmann Legislative Committee: Robin Clark (Chair), Nancy Larimer, Mary Reiman, Bev Russell, Kathy Tooker, Rod Wagner, Ken Winston, Michael Straatmann, Denise Lawyer, Brenda Ealey, and Gayle Roberts

College & University Section Distinguished Service Award

Joyce Neujar

Paraprofessional Section Paraprofessional of the Year Nancy Meyer

Public Library & Trustee Section Excalibur Award

Bev Russell

Public Library & Trustee Section Advocacy Award Wilma Eaton

School, Children's & Young People's Section Mad Hatter Award Sally Snyder

Special & Institutional Sectional Promotional Award Denise Morton

Special & Institutional Section Distinguished Service Award Laura Thompson

Nebraska Library Association's 2012 Goals

Jan Boyer, President, set these goals at the November 18, 2011 board meeting -

- 1. Increase membership to 700
- 2. Get the strategic plan up on the website
- 3. Have an Ad Hoc Website Committee to give our webmaster some structure
- 4. Create more membership levels and more reasons to be a member
- 5. Promote the Nebraska Library Commission's and the six Regional Library Systems' ongoing professional development opportunities

Lobbyist Lessons from the Keystone XL Pipeline Battleground

Ken Winston, NLA's lobbyist, spoke on lessons learned that could be applied to Nebraska libraries. His advice –

- Present a compelling story of libraries (i.e., Libraries support education and save people money) as communication connectors.
- Use grassroots support to sell the story.
- Connect with decision makers.
- Ask for more than we think we can get.

Intellectual Freedom Committee Seeking NLA Round Table Status

During summer 2011, the NLA Board recommended that the Intellectual Freedom Committee move to Round Table status. A petition for such a transition was taken to the October conference. Fifty verified signatures (30 were required) were obtained over three days. At its November 2011 meeting, the Board approved the petition to create an Intellectual Freedom Round Table. This petition will be voted upon by the full membership at the October 2012 MPLA/NLA/NEMA tri-conference in LaVista.

NLA's 2012 Legislative Day

Legislative Day will be February 27th at the Cornhusker Hotel in Lincoln. It will be held in conjunction with the Nebraska League of Municipalities. The traditional afternoon program will not occur so people can meet and mingle with their city representatives.

A major concern is a proposed bill to move library boards from governing bodies to advisory bodies. In cities larger than 10,000, 9 Library Boards are advisory and 5 are governing. This larger city group is the main target of the proposed bill. There are lots of governing boards in cities smaller than 10,000.

American Rural and Small Libraries Conference

The ARSL 2013 conference will be in Council Bluffs, Iowa. Feelers have been sent to see if NLA wants to be involved. Discussion will continue at a future date.