ST-7 New Mexico MPLA Report May 1, 2012 LeAnn Weller

The New Mexico Library Annual Conference was held in Las Cruces, New Mexico on April 11-13, 2012. The theme was "Linking New Mexico's Past with the Future: Libraries the next 100 years."

The following officers for 2012-2013 are listed below.

President--Tina Glatz (Director/Librarian, Onate High School, Las Cruces)

Vice President/President-Elect -- Mary Ellen Pellington (Octavia Fell Public Library, Gallup)

Secretary – Cassandra Osterloh, (Queen of Heaven Catholic School, Albuquerque)

Treasurer -- Norice Lee (Head of Access Services, NMSU Las Cruces)

Members-At-Large:

Kat Gullahorn (Universsity of New Mexico, Albuquerque) Mary Tuytschaevers, (New Mexico Junior College, Hobbs) Linda Keulen (Roosevelt Middle School, Tijeras) Janice Kowemy (Laguna Public Library) Mildred Walters (Learning Resource Center, Pueblo of Sandia)

NMLA April Board Meeting concerns

- Decreased registration for Annual Meeting
- Fundraising
- 2011-2012 budget shortfall? and 2012-2013 budget

The following awards were given at the Annual Conference

- Honorary Life Membership Award Elise Orell
- Legislator of the Year Award –Henri "Kiki" Saavedra
- New Mexico Library Amigo Award –Brian Fiarhurst
- New Mexico Library Leadership Award Molly Molloy
- Outstanding Elementary School Librarian Sarah Farrell Shining Stars Preschool, Rio Rancho
- Outstanding Secondary School Librarian Laurie Lacy, Cleveland Middle School, Albuquerque
- Academic Librarian of the Year—Melveta Walker
- Marion Dorroh Scholarship Cynthia Smith
- College Scholarships Kelly Anne Blaz, Susan Garcia Dominguez

The 2012 NMLA Mini-Conference will be Oct. 25-26, 2012 at the Riverwalk Recreation Center, Carlsbad. The theme is "Going to Bat for Libraries." Program proposals will be accepted for this conference until July 31. See http://nmla.org/mini-conference/