New Mexico MPLA Report May 13, 2013 LeAnn Weller

I attended the New Mexico Library Annual Conference in Albuquerque, New Mexico on April 17-19, 2013 and here are highlights from that meeting. This was a new location in a hotel and there were some space and food cost issue, but overall the meeting went smoothly.

The following officers for 2013-2014 are listed below.

NMLA April Board Meeting primary concerns

- Continuing budget issues
- Bylaws changes (Fall annual meeting 2014)

The following awards were given at the Annual Conference

- New Mexico Library Amigo Award –Sandy Crawford, Tularosa Public Library, Tularosa
- New Mexico Library Leadership Award Heather Dahl, Eldorado High School, Albuqerque
- Outstanding Elementary School Librarian Josh Benjamin, E.G. Ross Elementary, Albuquerque
- Outstanding Secondary School Librarian Margie Sartin, Piedra Vista High School, Farminton
- NMCAL Academic Librarian of the Year—Dennis Davies-Wilson, UNM-Los Alamos

The Fall 2013 Mini-Conference will be in Los Alamos in October 2014.

Ten free MPLA memberships were drawn at the NMLA business meeting. The electronic submission generated 14 applications.

LeAnn Weller was re-appointed as the NMLA representative to MPLA.

I submitted information on MPLA awards to the NMLA newsletter and the electronic discussion list.