## ST-8

North Dakota State Report Mountain Plains Library Association October 21, 2004

"Making a Case for Libraries" was the theme of the 2004 annual North Dakota Library Association Conference held in Minot September 22-24. Michael Angelo Caruso was the keynote speaker and gave two workshops during the conference. Also MPLA President Carol Hammond attended the NDLA conference where she gave a promotional speech at Friday's luncheon. NDLA members were pleased to have her in attendance and discussed local issues such as the hiring of a lobbyist for promotion of library funding in the state legislature. Carol was able to tour some of the Lewis and Clark sites while she visited North Dakota. Professional Development Grant winners were: Ron Rudser Continuing Education Grant, Sally Dockter, UND Chester Fritz Library, Grand Forks; NDLA Professional Development Grant: Kirsten Baesler, Bismarck Public Schools, Bismarck. Ghost Ranch Leadership Institute participants recognized at the awards banquet were Rachel White and Erin Smith. Jerry Kaup, Minot Public Library will be a mentor at the Institute. Canoe kudos awards were presented to State Librarian Doris Ott, Shelby Harkin, UND Chester Fritz Library, Grand Forks, and Elaine Strand, retired Grand Forks reference librarian. Konnie Wightman was recognized as the School Library Administrator of the Year.

Librarian of the Year award was presented to Jerry Kaup, Director, Minot Public Library. He has served two terms as NDLA President, two terms as MPLA President, ALA Councilor, and been instrumental in establishing the Ron Rudser Memorial Scholarship Fund. In addition Jerry has served on both the Library Vision 2004 and 2010 committees. During the awards banquet he was surprised to learn his two brothers from Nebraska and sister from New Jersey were in the audience watching him receive his award.

Exploring Frontiers in Literacy was the theme of this fall's 31st Plains IRA Regional Reading Conference held in Bismarck, October 6-9, 2004. Co-sponsored by the N.D. Reading Association, the International Reading Association, the ND Department of Public Instruction, and Mandan and Bismarck Public Schools, it is endorsed by the Reading Associations of Kansas, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, and South Dakota. Conference Co-Chairs are Joyce Hinman and Michele Svihovec of Bismarck. In addiction to nationally know speakers Richard Allington (current IRA president-elect) and Jerry Piasecki (United Nations consultant), motivational speakers Claudia Busch Lee and Steven Layne took part in the conference.

The 2004 winners of the Flicker Tale Children's Book Award are Eposumondas by Colleen Salley (picture book category), and Island Book One: Shipwreck by Gordon Korman (juvenile category). NDLA's School Library and Youth Services Section (SLAYS) is again sponsoring the Flicker Tale Children's Book Award for 2005. The nominees for picture book category are:

- Storm is Coming by Heather Tekavec
- Fat Cat by Margaret Read McDonald
- o Don't Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus by Mo Willems
- o A Fine, Fine School by Sharon Creech

## Intermediate Category

- o Judy Moody: Was in a Mood, Not a Good Mood, a Bad Mood by Megan McDonald
- Capp Street Carnival by Sandra Dutton
- Minnie & Moo and the Seven Wonders of the World by Denys Cazet
- o Spiderwick Chronicles: the Field Guide by Tony DiTerlizzi

## Juvenile Category

- o Hoot by Carl Hiaasen
- o Zach's Lie by Roland Smith

- A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck
- o Blizzard's Wake by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor

North Dakota Libraries Receive Project Grants.

Grant recipients who received over \$250,000 from the North Dakota State Library to add their records to the statewide library catalog (LaND) are Beulah Public School Libraries, Cavalier Public School Library, Heart of America (Rugby), Larimore Public School Library, Minot Public School Libraries, Napoleon Public School Library, Northwood Public School Library, and Underwood Public Library.