MPLA Board Report October 10, 2007

The 2007 North Dakota Library Association was held September 26 -28 in Jamestown, ND. "Laughing with Librarians: Becoming Unhinged and Unshelved!" was the theme for the conference. About 160 people attended the conference. Guest speakers featured included Unshelved artist and writer Bill Barnes and Gene Ambaum and the "Attitude Doctor" Terry Fleck. Awards handed out included the 2007 Major Benefactor of the Year, given to Dr. James Carlson of Fargo for his generous donation to the Fargo Public Library. MPLA member Marlene Anderson, director of the Bismarck State College library, was awarded 2007 Librarian of the Year. The 2007 President's Recognition Award was handed to MPLA member Kelly Steckler, Director of the Morton Mandan Public Library, for her hard work and perseverance as Chairperson of the Legislative Committee during the 2007 session. The Minot Public Library won the Excellence in Service to Youth Award. The association also recognized six members for 30 years of service, six members for 20 years of service, and one member for 40 years of service.

Construction on Fargo's Dr. James Carlson Branch Library is continuing to make great progress. The Grand Opening is scheduled for November 16, 2007. This 15,000 square foot full-service branch library will feature a children's area, a teen center, a large meeting room, conference rooms, information services, twenty-one computers, as well as a wide variety of books, periodicals, and materials for children, teens and adults.

As of July 1, the North Dakota State Library has made OCLC FirstSearch available to all libraries throughout the state. With the addition of FirstSearch, six databases are now available through legislative funding and LSTA.