ST-9

MPLA Board Report Oklahoma Report: May 2, 2007 Respectfully submitted by Barbara Ray, Oklahoma Representative

The newly elected officers of the Oklahoma Library Association are: Vice President/President Elect: Kathy Latrobe Secretary: Aiden Street Treasurer: Sarah Robbins The incoming president is Jan Bryant.

The Oklahoma Library Association held its 100th Annual Conference in Oklahoma City April 2-4. One hundred "Library Legends" were featured at the banquet and included MPLA's own Wayne Hanway and Marilyn Hinshaw. Three OLA scholarships were awarded for \$500.00 each. The Robert T. Motter Vendor Appreciation Award was given for the first time to Robert Motter for his long time participation and support of libraries in Oklahoma.

The Long Range Plan for 2007-2008 includes: Goal One: To strengthen Oklahoma libraries and services -communicate legislation issues, market all libraries, investigate organizing a Legislator's Friends Groups

Goal Two: To strengthen librarianship in Oklahoma -recruitment at regional meetings, involve more members, work toward greater diversity

Goal Three: To improve organization and operation of OLA -provide online registration submission, update job descriptions, continue fund raising efforts for OLA Endowment Fund

Votes were counted for the 2007 Sequoyah Awards and the Donna Norvell Book Award Children's Award winner: The World According to Humphrey by Betty Birney Young Adult Award winner: Red Kayak by Priscilla Cummings Donna Norvell Award winner: Leaf Man by Lois Ehlert Funds for libraries are the biggest legislative concern at this time. Legislative Day was held in April and the legislative committee will continue to communicate issues to the membership.