ST-10

South Dakota MPLA Report 7/2004

Suzanne Miller, South Dakota MPLA representative, left the state to take a new position with the Minnesota Department of Education as Director of Library Development Services and School Technology. Mary Caspers-Graper will fill the position of South Dakota MPLA Representative until the next election is held.

Wait! Not Paint!, written and Illustrated by Bruce Whatley, is this year's winner of the Prairie Bud Award. This winner was selected by 5,194 South Dakota students in grades K-3 who have read fifteen nominated titles and voted for their favorite. Whatley's book received 887 votes 2004 Prairie Pasque Award winner is Skeleton Man by Joseph Bruchac. 2401 South Dakota students in grades 4-6 read fifteen nominated titles and voted for their favorite which received 511 votes.

The SDLA Library Issues Committee hosted two legislative platform meetings to identify and discuss priorities for the coming year. The first meeting was held May 26 in Sioux Falls and the second meeting on June 16 in Rapid City. The input from these meetings was used to develop a SDLA platform.

On the urging of Governor Michael Rounds, the State Library Board shut down the teen section of the State Library's Web Site. The Governor objected to a link to Planned Parenthood on the teen site which the he claims violates the state's internet policy because Planned Parenthood is a political organization that hires lobbyists. A committee will be appointed by the governor to review all the links on the state's site for compliance.

The Support Staff Section of SDLA will host the 2nd Bi-annual BranchOut SD Conference, July 29, 2004, on the campus of Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD. Maureen Sullivan, organizational development consultant and librarian is the Keynote Speaker. For more information about BranchOut check the website: http://lib.sdstate.edu/salonen/BranchOut.htm.

The South Dakota Library Association will celebrate its 100 anniversary at this year's Annual Conference, October 6-8, in Spearfish, SD. Will Hobbs will be the featured speaker at the Author Luncheon. Doug Johnson will be the Keynote Speaker