South Dakota Library Association Mountain Plains Library Association Report, October 2004 Submitted by Mary Caspers-Graper, SDLA Representative to MPLA

Dorothy Liegl was appointed as the new South Dakota State Librarian. Dorothy's past leadership among libraries both in-state and regionally, and her 32 years of experience working at the South Dakota State Library make her an excellent choice to lead the State Library.. Dorothy Liegle is an active MPLA member and has served the organization in many capacities including mentor at the MPLA Leadership Institute.

On Thursday, July 29, the Support Staff Section of SDLA hosted the 2nd bi-annual BranchOut SD Conference. This one-day conference for library support staff and paraprofessionals was hosted by Mikkelsen Library, Augustana College in Sioux Falls. This year's theme was "Raising Awareness". The keynote luncheon speaker was Maureen Sullivan. 103 people attended the workshops and roundtables.

South Dakota Library Association celebrated its 100 anniversary at the annual conference in Spearfish, October 7-8. 211 people attended the conference. Doug Johnson, president of MENO (Minnesota State Affiliate of AASL was the Keynote Speaker. Will Hobbs was the featured speaker at the Author Luncheon. New South Dakota Library Association Officers were elected and took office at the conference.

President: Deb Hagemeier (deb_hagemeier@augie.edu)

Vice President/President Elect: Kevin Kenkel (kekenkel@dwu.edu)

Secretary: Pam Lingor (plingor@sdln.net)

Treasurer: Brenda Hemmelman (bkstand@rap.midco.net)

ALA Councilor: Jennifer Irwin (jirwin@rcplib.org)

MPLA Representative: Colleen Smith (csmith@sdln.net)

Five South Dakota Academic libraries have cooperated to form the South Dakota NACO Funnel. NACO is the name authority component of the Library of Congress's Program for Cooperative Cataloging. Members of NACO contribute original name, title, and series authority records to the Library of Congress Name Authority File. Dustin Larmore of Dakota State University will serve as the South Dakota NACO Coordinator. Other institutions participating in the project are Augustana College, Northern State University, the South Dakota State Library, and South Dakota State University.

Next year's annual conference will be held October 5-7, 2005 in Pierre, SD.