ST-10

South Dakota State Report – October 2008 Elvita Landau, State Representative

The South Dakota Library Association Annual Conference drew more than 200 librarians, exhibitors and speakers to Cedar Shores Resort in Chamberlain, SD September 24-26. Attendees were encouraged, instructed, and entertained by keynote speaker Joe Janes, Jim Rettig, ALA President, authors Ken Davis, Will Hobbs, Jane Cobb & Elaine Alphin, and many others. The Library Institute alumni, AKA "Tooters", held a reunion which required relocation in the bar. Fun was had by all.

Members honored recently at the SDLA Conference include Keri Smith, New Librarian of the Year, Judy Trzynka, Trustee of the Year, Gil and Barbara Johnsson, Friend of the Library, Colleen Kirby, Distinguished Service Award, and Ann Smith, Librarian of the Year.

Dorothy Liegl, former MPLA president, state rep and member of numerous committees, announced her retirement from the South Dakota State Library effective October 8. She plans to start a library consulting business.

Dan Boyd, Director of Access Services at the South Dakota State Library, will be retiring October 23.

Dr. Anne Moore has been appointed Dean of Libraries at the University of South Dakota, Vermillion. Previously she was the Associate Director for User Services at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst and has held positions at New Mexico State University, George Mason University, and the University of Arizona. She has a PhD in Educational Management and Development with Concentration in Higher Education Administration and Technology Integration and a Masters degree in Library and Information Science.

The South Dakota State Library Board has approved a grant to the South Dakota Library Network to assist interlibrary loan net lenders with their related costs.